Nu Rho Psi

Wayne State University National Honor Society in Neuroscience

Who Are We?

Nu Rho Psi is the National Honor Society in Neuroscience, founded in 2006, for undergraduate students, medical students, graduate students, and faculty. The Wayne State University chapter of Nu Rho Psi inducted its' first inaugural class fall semester 2020! Our chapter also received 2021 Outstanding Chapter of the Year Award from the National organization!

Our Purpose

  • Encourage professional interest and excellence in scholarship, particularly in neuroscience.

  • Award recognition to students who have achieved such excellence in scholarship.

  • Advance the discipline of neuroscience.

  • Encourage intellectual and social interaction between students, faculty, and professionals in neuroscience and related fields.

  • Promote career development in neuroscience and related fields.

  • Increase public awareness of neuroscience and its benefits for the individual and society.

  • Encourage service to the community.

Meet the Executive Board and Committee Chairs

Maryam Abbawi


Selin Yalcinoglu

Vice President

Sanjana Vutukuri

Director of Correspondence

Hailey Amouri

Director of Finance

Iman Manzoor

Director of Membership

Zahraa Ghosn

Director of Academics

Hasan Jumani

Director of Academics

Zena Azo

Director of Research

Sattvik Basarkod

Director of Research

Awab Tanoli

Director of External Programs

Majd Yahya

Chair of Fundraising Committee

Leen Rass

Chair of the Community Service Committee

Mariya Matsko

Chair of the Public Relations Committee

Amal Elsaleh

Chair of the Public Relations Committee

Dr. Thomas Fischer, PhD

Faculty Advisor

Associate Professor of Psychology &

Director of Undergraduate Neuroscience Program

Dr. Alana Conti, PhD

Faculty Advisor

Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences & Program Officer of Translational Neuroscience Program

Annie Nguyen

Representative of the Translational Neuroscience Graduate Program

Morgan Glover

Representative of the Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience Graduate Program

Fundraising Committee

Majd Yahya (Chair)

Ghadeer Abdulshafi

Alexander Randall

Nina Colo

Community Service Committee

Leen Rass (Chair)

Ayat Abed-Ali

Shridula Kotakondla

Nataliah Jwaida

Public Relations Committee

Mariya Matsko (Chair)

Katerina Kole

Mohamed Ramadan

Faisal Hussain

Event Coordination Committee

Amal Elsaleh (Chair)

Grant Drouillard

Farah Hannoudi

Alexander Jakubiec

University Affairs Committee

Annie Nguyen

Morgan Glover